Long Drive: Fate (4/4)

It was a long drive.

Thank goodness for the lengthy forward.

Down to the last three

city crossroads.

Before I could lay my eyes

on that hilly abode.

Munch.

Gulp.

As the last song played.

My boho fashion,

once on point,

started to fade.

In that last street,

a big bike bumped

the ass of that Chevy in front of me.

A traffic jam,

door slammed.

My eyes became watery.

That avenue.

The great mixtape.

That butternut.

All of them, I tried to escape.

The Chevy boy,

I cursed to hell,

the one I really hate.

“Why did you do this, Fate?

He broke my heart’s gate!”.

I left my life to start anew.

But it flashes back

when I saw you.

-Jc Joyce

Leave a Reply

